gadabout gal

the adventures & chronicles of a single gal

Days 13-16 in Nha Trang, Vietnam

After a couple hours of sleep it was time to hop on the afternoon train. I was headed North to the beach town of Nha Trang. I boarded the train, settled into my soft seat and turned on my iPod for the next 7.5 hours. I knew the estimated time of arrival, however, considering my last weeks travels I wasn’t holding my breath. There were a couple other foreigners traveling to the same location, but we each were told different arrival times. The Vietnamese women next to me said I had a long ways to go, the one in the front said just a couple more stops and another behind said not this one, but the next. I didn’t really want to make the mistake of getting off in the middle of nowhere or pass by my stop, so we all waited. Questioning each approaching stop, wondering if this was the one? The announcements were only made in Vietnamese and we couldn’t read the name of each train station, until finally we approached what we thought was our station. My suspicions were correct, I was greeted with a glowing red neon sign announcing, NHA TRANG.

Nha Trang is a charming beach town nestled in a small cove and surrounded by many small islands. Each time I find myself near the beach I realize it’s MY place. For some its the mountains, others the desert, but for me it’s the lapping of the waves, the sea salt air and the sand between my toes. I’ll post some photos soon, write about my Mud Bath & catch up my remaining days now that I’m back in HCM city.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment

The Chic Adventurer

The adventures of an American journalist and author based in Mexico and traveling the world. 49 countries and counting!

Plus Ultra

Stories and photographs from places “further beyond”.

Nic Freeman

Stories about life, travel and exploration

What an Amazing World!

Seeing, feeling and exploring places and cultures of the world

infinite satori

FOLLOW YOUR GOOSEBUMPS

Unthai-ed, Untangled

"The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page."

thesolesearch

Searching for my soul via my soles...

legitjeff ADVENTURES IN THAILAND

"Not all those who wander are lost"

chelseysjourney

A southern Farang living in the land of smiles